My account Wishlist Shopping cart Login
57 Akadimias Street, Athens - T. +30 210 362 6137
Opera and Vocal
Soloist Instrumental
Chamber Music

Latin America
North Africa
Asia - Oceania

  Special Offers  
Members Special Offers

  Historical Recordings  


Product: 3760115300743

Adolphe-Charles Adam - Giselle

Bel Air Classiques, DVD

Svetlana Lunkina

The Bolshoi Ballet / The Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra / Pavel Klinichev

The Bolshoi Ballet troupe in Yuri Grigorovich's version of the romantic masterpiece "Giselle", at last available in High-Definition.
First performed in 1841, Giselle was an immediate hit. With music by Adolphe Adam and a libretto by Théophile Gautier and Jules-Henri Vernoy de Saint-Georges, the ballet touches on the great romantic themes: local colour, a pastoral love affair doomed to end in tragedy, a plunge into fantasy and redemption through the power of love.
Learning that Albrecht, her beloved, is in fact a nobleman engaged to be married to a princess, the naive peasant girl Giselle dies. The Queen of the Wilis —the spirits of deceased young virgins—decides that Albrecht should follow Giselle to the grave, and condemns him to dance until he dies of exhaustion. But Giselle's spirit dances with him and saves him.
Composer Adolphe Adam owes his reputation to this archetypal, richly melodic romantic ballet.
As Giselle Svetlana Lunkina is simply sensational. Her Albrecht is the iconically noble dancer Dmitri Gudanov. And the cast is perfectly rounded off by Maria Allash as the Queen of the Wilis.
The Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra is conducted by Pavel Klinichev.

Cast :

The Bolshoi Ballet
The Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra
Pavel Klinichev, conductor
Choreography by Jean Coralli, Jules Perrot & Marius Petipa
Choreographic version by Yuri Grigorovich
Svetlana Lunkina, Giselle
Dmitry Gudanov, Albrecht
Vitaly Biktimirov, Hans
Maria Allash, Myrtha
Elena Bukanova, Berthe
Ekaterina Barykina, Bathilde
Alexey Loparevich, Duke
Vladislav Lantratov, Wilfreed

Quantity : 


Classical Jazz World Special Offers Historical Recordings Vinyls About us Contact us Members Club Attention


Login New member Forgotten password 

active³ 5.0 · © 2000 - 2015 IPS Ltd · Disclaimer